The England cricket team represents England and Wales in international cricket. Since 1997 it has been governed by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), having been previously governed by Marylebone Cricket Club (the MCC) from 1903 until the end of 1996. England, as a founding nation, is a full member of the International Cricket Council(ICC) with TestOne Day International (ODI) and Twenty20 International (T20I) status. Until the 1990s, Scottish and Irish players also played for England as those countries were not yet ICC members in their own right.

England cricket team

England and Australia were the first teams to play a Test match (between 15–19 March 1877), and these two countries together with South Africa formed the Imperial Cricket Conference (predecessor to today’s International Cricket Council) on 15 June 1909. England and Australia also played the first ODI on 5 January 1971. England’s first T20I was played on 13 June 2005, once more against Australia.

As of 11 May 2019, England has played 1010 Test matches, winning 365 and losing 300 (with 345 draws). The team has won The Ashes on 32 occasions. England has played 730 ODIs, winning 365, and its record in major ODI tournaments includes finishing as runners-up in three Cricket World Cups (1979, 1987 and 1992), and in two ICC Champions Trophies (2004 and 2013). England has also played 109 T20Is, winning 54. They won the ICC World Twenty20 in 2010 and were runners-up in 2016.

As of 12 March 2019, England is ranked fifth in Tests, first in ODIs and third in T20Is by the ICC. Though the team and coaching staff faced heavy criticism after their Group Stage exit in the 2015 Cricket World Cup, it has since adopted a more aggressive and modern playing style in ODI cricket, under the leadership of captain Eoin Morgan and head coach Trevor Bayliss.

ICC world cup 2019
ICC world cup 2019


ICC world cup 2019
ICC world cup 2019
Kennington Oval, London

(May 25 3:30PM)
ICC world cup 2019
ICC world cup 2019
The Rose Bowl, Southampton