The country’s football will return after 214 days

by Hasan
The country's football will return after 214 days
The country's football will return after 214 days

Abahani Limited lost to Muktijoddha Sangsad Krirachakra in the last match of the Premier League on March 15 before the domestic football was stopped in Corona.

The last match in the Premier League before the coronavirus era was on March 15. The Premier League was then suspended and finally canceled. Domestic football is finally going to return. The professional league committee has decided to start the new season with the Federation Cup on December 19. As such, the country’s football is going to return after 214 days.

The issue of remuneration of the players has also been finalized in today’s meeting. BFF president Kazi Salauddin had promised 40 percent remuneration as per the previous season’s agreement, but the league committee meeting has reduced it to 35 percent. However, in a previous meeting of the league committee, it was decided that the clubs would pay 25 percent of the players’ salaries in the new season.

Sitting down with professional league clubs, BFF had earlier announced that there would be no change of local players this time as every season. However, any player will get a chance to change teams in the context of negotiations. The clubs will announce the names of such players to BFF by mid-October 30. The player registration process will continue from November 1 to December 15.

The country's football will return after 214 days

The buzz was that this time the new season could be without foreign footballers. In the end, it remained a rumor. Four foreign players have been registered, and all four have been allowed to play. One has to be Asian.

However, BFF has already announced this decision. Last time, all five had the opportunity to play with the registration of five names. However, four people could stay on the field together.

Although the Federation Cup is being held at the Bangabandhu National Stadium, the BFF league committee has not yet taken a final decision on the league’s venue. The venues of the Premier League are Army Stadium, Shaheed Barkat Stadium in Gazipur, Mosleh Uddin Bhuiyan Stadium in Narsingdi, BKSP, and Comilla District Stadium. This time Premier League games can be played in 3-4 venues, including Bangabandhu Stadium.


You may also like

Leave a Comment